Entertaining

Kids watch TV, it’s a way of life.  I try to limit the amount and the content, but Dru does watch.  And he has shows he really likes.  Days when he’s not feeling well, we tend to watch more.  It happens.

But what I really want to know is what the makers of some of these programs are thinking!?  Most of what we watch is on NickJr, but even there you can find utter crap!  So I’m going to review the kid’s shows I’m familiar with.

Fresh Beat Band – Dru loves this show.  Aside from the fact that there are under 50 episodes, so we watch the same ones OVER AND OVER, I actually like this show.  It’s lots of music, and Dru actually tries to imitate the dancing.  He knows a couple of the characters’ names and the lessons are overall good.  So, while it’s rather inane from an adult’s perspective, I have no real issues with this one.

Franklin – Dru uses this one to identify animals.  But we really don’t watch it that often.  Mostly it’s fine – though a couple of the episodes I’ve seen have Franklin acting like a bit of a twat, with very little repercussion.  I know it’s based off a book series, but I frankly can’t remember if he’s like that in the books.

Little Bear – Cute.  Again Dru likes the animals, and we don’t watch it often.  But I haven’t really seen any episodes that I dislike.

Ni Hao Kai-Lan – Dru likes this one, but I limit it to only certain episodes.  Kai-Lan is okay, but her “friends” make me stabby.  They’re all very whiny and entitled.  And throw temper tantrums every time they don’t get their way.  Yet there are no consequences.  This bothers me a lot.

Jack’s Big Music Show – cute.  The characters are a bit odd, but not bad.  They don’t do bad things, so consequences are not at issue.  It has a ton of music too, so Dru loves it for that.  NickJr just moved it to way early tho, so usually he’s not up to see it.

Wonder Pets – ANNOYING.  The duck has a lisp.  And is a selfish twat.  The guinea pig is bossy, and the turtle is a wuss.  We avoid this one.

Wow Wow Wubbzy – Forbidden in our house.  The animation is like high-tech 8-bit and the values are crap.  The main character, Wubbzy, is a raging idiot, and constantly does bad things.  Then is NEVER punished for them.  NOT OKAY.

Olivia – Just NO.  She’s a twat.  In one episode, she tried to stuff her brother in a box and send him to Siberia.  Her father’s reaction – it’s not practical to do it, because shipping is expensive.  Other episodes are just as bad, and she always has to have everything be about her.

Word World – This is a PBS kids show.  I LOVE this show.  Since Dru has learned his letters, and we’re working on what sounds they make, etc, this show is great because everything in the show is made up of the word it is.  And the lessons are great too.  I just love this show.  Plus the animals enforce his animal identification (and not just by the sounds, but he just recently started saying “seep” instead of “baa” when talking about a sheep.

Dino Dan – Eh.  I have no strong feelings towards this show.  It’s really educational about dinos, but I’m not the biggest fan of how every adult and peer in the show seems to just let Dan believe that he really does see dinos everywhere, and constantly interrupts his teachers to tell them about dinos.  Only mildly annoying in the long run.  We don’t watch it much.

Dora the Explorer – NO.  There is a character that’s sole purpose is to steal things.  the opening song even has him doing it.  No.

Go Diego Go – eh.  Dru doesn’t seem to have any strong feelings.

Little Bill – again, eh.  It’s kind of Bill Cosby’s answer to Caillou, but less annoying.  Dru doesn’t seem interested here either.

Yo Gabba Gabba – I used to be scared by this show, but I’ve gotten used to it.  My father-in-law calls it the “french tickler show” because one of the characters looks like one.  But it has decent lessons, lots of music, and he dances along.

Blue’s Clues – I actually don’t mind this one.  Dru’s been interacting with it lately.  When they ask where something is, I can see him studying the TV, then he’ll scream out “TERE IT IS” when he finds it.

Toot & Puddle – Eh.  Dru likes the pigs, because he snorts at them.  I think it’s a  bit old for him in general.  I like that it focuses on different places and cultures.  He doesn’t really pay attention.

Peppa Pig – The animation in this one is very immature, but the lessons are decent.  The fact that all the characters have a British accent is interesting, and exposes Dru to words sounding different.  So that’s good.  All in all, not bad.

The Backyardigans – I really only have one complaint with this show.  One of the characters is unidentifiable as any particular creature (all the others are very obviously identifiable) and is named Uniqua.  Other than that, it’s cute, the music and imagination aspects are well done.  So yeah, this one stay on if it comes up.

Miss Spider’s Sunny Patch Friends – I have no real problem with this show.  The characters can be selfish, but they are always called on it and made to reform their behavior.  Dru likes the books about the same character better, so we don’t really watch the show.

Caillou – This show is no longer shown.  It’s on Sprout, and Caillou’s voice makes me want to stab my eyes out with a rusty spoon.  And he’s annoying personality wise.  With all the other shows out there, why bother?

 

So, what are your kids’ show loves/hates?

6 comments on “Entertaining

  1. All I know about any of these shows is that my niece performs what I call the “angry crab” dance (a mix of dancing and trying to snap with her arms over her head) any time one of us screams “Fresh Beat Band”.
    Kids are crazy.

    • Lol. They are. That’s actually part of one of the dances though. Dru does it too. If I need him to cheer up in public, I sing FBB’s “Go Bananas” song to him, and he brightens up and starts dancing.

  2. manderkinz says:

    I have a strong hatred for Wonder Pets. The duck needs to die. Same with Olivia, Peppa Pig and Little Bill. Terrible shows. Dino Dan is not a show I think should be on Nick Jr. It was targeted to much older children, and honestly, the kid’s weird. And why are none of the adults able to say basic dinosaur names that any 1st grader knows?
    And Yo Gabba Gabba is pretty much an acid trip from start to finish.

    Despite Kai-Lan’s emotionally-challenged animal friends (Although, It’d be cool if *I* could kick a boat on top of a building, and if I could float around because of a balloon tied to my nose, that would also be fun) I think its by-and-large a good show.

    We’ve been watching a couple of the Disney shows too, like Jake and the Neverland Pirates and Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.

    I tried him on How to Train Your Dragon the other day when I was sick of high-pitched cartoon voices, but no dice. 😦

    • I love that movie! Dru’s back on his Aladdin kick, though I managed to switch it up for a partial run of Disney’s Robin Hood today. He was marching around the house saying “mahch, mahch” and then identifying the animals. It was funny.

      He never really seems to care about Jake and the Neverland Pirates or MMC. Don’t know why.

  3. weathervanes says:

    Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on this blog loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  4. NAtalie Gaudio says:

    Jake is constantly asking for Caillou. He also loves Jake and the Neverland Pirates. and Kick Buttowski on Disney. He likes to watch Super Why which teaches good lessons. Personally I HATE Dora. I stayed with my cousins for a week and thats ALL we watched. and the plane ride home was worse. I had a kid behind me screaming Dora Dora Dora!

Leave a Reply

