Commercializing

Okay, so I usually just zap through commercials, but lately, we’ve had a couple shows we watched without the ability to fast forward.  As a result, I saw the new Honda CR-V commercials.  They really upset me.

In the one, the guy proposes to his girlfriend, and she has all these flashes of things she wants to do that she feels she won’t be able to do them because she’s getting married (until of course she thinks about the CR-V).  The other shows a woman telling her guy that she wants to have kids, and he has the same panic attack with the same conclusion about the CR-V.

Here’s what pisses me off – this implies that getting married and having babies means that you can no longer enjoy life or do the things you want to do.  And frankly that’s crap.  I didn’t marry my husband because I was convinced that I had accomplished everything in my life and it was all downhill from there.  I married my husband because I wanted to experience the rest of my life with him, especially the things that were things I hadn’t done yet.

As for having kids – yes it changed our lives, but it’s not like we can’t still go on vacation.  This summer we took a vacation where we left Dru with his grandparents and had a great time.  Next summer, we’re hoping to be able to go to Ireland for a wedding, and we’ll again leave Dru with his grandparents (assuming we can afford the trip of course).  Ireland has been a place that both of us have wanted to visit, and if Dru wasn’t going to be 3.5, we’d love to take him along.  But instead, we’ll go and enjoy ourselves, and he’ll have fun with family.

In either case, giving up your dreams because you get married or have kids is dumb, and the implication that you should be expected to do so, unless you get a particular car is offensive.

IF that’s not what Honda was aiming for their commercial to say, they failed.  If it was, they failed more, because it’s an offensive message.

Leave a Reply

